Two birds with one stone, cashew milk and cashew cheese at the same time!!!!!

I am one of those people who is mostly convinced that if I have a great idea, someone has probably had it before. For example: One particularly grueling day in the field I was out helping to survey a river to do some restoration work. It was October, and in Wyoming that can be a chilly month. It had rained all day, and though I was in my raincoat and hip waders, I was still soggy and chilled by the end of the day. No rain pants for this gal. I thought it would be nice to have something to cover the space between the bottom of my raincoat and the top of my boots to keep my jeans dry. So I thought Rain Skirt! I could just put it on over my pants, and the take it off when it was time to get back in the truck! Yep, you guessed it, someone already went there! Check out The Original Rain Skirt.

This is strangely also the case with this post. You might wonder why I would bother to post this at all if it has been done before. I don’t see any shame in doing so when I stumbled across the idea all on my own. I had already made an awesome cashew cheese recipe from Fork and Beans and read an informative post on how to make your own nut milk by Tasty Yummies, so putting 2 and 2 together was just a matter of time for me. And innovating like this is exactly what you need to do when you are on a restrictive diet that uses a lot of expensive ingredients. You don’t want to be throwing out a whole cup of cashew puree!

Crackers with Cashew cheese and jalapeno jam (1) Crackers with Cashew cheese and jalapeno jam (2)

(pssst! loook! photos! …. :-0)

What you will need for Part 1:

-A nut milk bag (I got mine for less than $10 on Amazon)

– 1 cup raw cashews or cashew pieces

– 4 cups water

Soak 1 cup of cashews overnight (or a few hours should do the trick). In the morning, drain the water off and rinse the cashews. Add them to a blender that has at least a 4 cup capacity (otherwise work in batches). Begin to puree the cashews. If you have a weenie blender like mine, you might have to add some of your 4 cups of water to it to help it along, but the point is you want to grind the nuts really fine. Add the rest of the water and blend for about 30 seconds. Lay your nut milk bag out inside a bowl or measuring cup that has at least a 5 cup capacity. Pour the contents of your blender into your nut milk bag and lift it out of the bowl, squeezing gently to release the liquid. You don’t have to squeeze all the liquid out because your cheese will be too dry if you do. Pour the cashew milk into a quart jar and refrigerate. According to other experts, this should last about 5 days to a week.

Part 2:

Next pour the cashew pulp back into the bowl for making cheese. During this process you could add it back to the blender to try and achieve a smoother consistency, but it’s not necessary since you blended it once already.

Now follow this awesome Raw Cashew Cheese recipe from Fork and Beans.

My favorite way to eat this cheese is with some jalapeno jelly on some crackers, but fork and beans has a great basil and sundried tomato method too.

Leave a Reply

